ME AND SUZIE WONG



BUFFALOed is the First Place Grand Prize Winner for fiction in the 2009 INDIE Book Awards. I am so honored to receive this award. It is a tribute to my grandmother and our Norwegian family heritage. Thank you, Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group.

What's the book all about?

"This well-researched book is just the kind of yarn that the master of tall tales, one Charles Marion Russell (1862-1926), would endorse without hesitation. The dialogue, the atmosphere, and the historical period in "Buffaloed" are superb. Fans of Russell and Montana history will discover that the book includes real events and places along with a supporting cast of historical personages.

In his book "Montana Adventure," a friend and contemporary of Russell, Frank B. Linderman, writes that "Charlie Russell was the most lovable man I have ever known." This is the Charlie Russell who emerges in Fairlee Winfield's wonderful novel."
--Malcolm R. Campbell "The Sun Singer"

"This work has cinematic appeal. I wanted to read on and was never bored. Its premise is intriguing and sent me to Google to see how much was based on fact"
óBarbara B. Scott, Author



Author's Biography

Inspiration for BUFFALOed was sparked by the author's Norwegian grandmother's stories of working in Montana home of the famed Cowboy Artist, Charles M. Russell. Currently Fairlee Winfield is a Professor Emeritus of Linguistics and Cultural Studies at Northern Arizona University and at Arizona State University. A former Fulbright lecturer in Peru, and an exchange professor in Japan, she resides in Arizona.

Selected Works

Fiction
BUFFALOed
A Norwegian immigrant girl working for renowned Cowboy Artist, Charlie Russell, reveals a gritty story of the west and a possible controversy surrounding the famous Montana State House mural.
Nonfiction
Commuter Marriage; Living Together, Apart
A witty and refreshing look at the dual-residence lifestyle as a viable alternative to career sacrifice.
The Work and Family Sourcebook
This Sourcebook provides the human resources professional with information on work and family issues.